Hamilton Chamber of Commerce Announces Nominees for Annual Outstanding Business Achievement Awards

· by c.dambrosio@hamiltonchamber.ca

February 12, 2020 [UPDATED MAY 19, 2020] – HAMILTON, ON: The Hamilton Chamber of Commerce is pleased to announce the nominees for the Outstanding Business Achievement Awards (OBAA), honoring businesses for their contributions to the Hamilton community in 2019.

“So much of the renaissance that Hamilton is experiencing right now is due to the combined efforts of our business community,” said Hamilton Chamber President & CEO, Keanin Loomis. “The Outstanding Business Achievement Awards give us the opportunity one night each year to discover, promote and recognize the contributions that each business makes to the vibrancy of our city.


Small/Medium/Large Business of the Year

These awards will be presented to a profit-centred private business organization, whose business achievement made an outstanding contribution to Hamilton in 2019.

Small Business (1-10 employees)

  • The Millionaire’s Daughter
  • LoAllay Inc.
  • Jet Propelled

Mid-Sized Business (10-50 employees)

  • TV Hamilton Limited/Cable 14
  • Newfore Inc.
  • Anderson Therapy Services

Large Business (50+ employees)

  • Gowling WLG
  • Kavin Group
  • Pearle Hospitality

Young Entrepreneur, Under 40
This award will be presented to a young entrepreneur(s) age 40 and under, who owns and operates his/her business in Hamilton.

  • Adam Lloyd – ALP Training Institute
  • Emily O’Brien – Comeback Snacks ( formerly known as Cons & Kernels)
  • Yaser Jafar – Auto Key Pro Inc.

Not-for Profit
This award will be presented to a not-for-profit organization that operates in Hamilton. The organization must have been in business for a minimum of 3 years.

  • Hamilton Music Collective
  • Empowerment Squared
  • Mealshare

The Outstanding Business Achievement Awards will also honour local businesses with the Accessibility and Century Awards.


This award will be presented to Interval House of Hamilton for creating an accessible work environment.


This award will be presented to both KPMG LLP and Fluke Transportation for their contributions to the community for over 100 years.

The Chamber is also pleased to announce the winning recipient of the 2019 Hamilton Citizen of the Year is Demetrius Tsafaridis.

The winners of each category will be announced at a Virtual Viewing Party on Tuesday, June 9 from 6:30 to 8 p.m. over Zoom. Register for the virtual event here.

The Chamber would like to thank community partners for their support in this event: RBC as the presenting sponsor, as well as Bell, City of Hamilton, Cogeco, CN, Hamilton International Airport, OLG, and Taylor Leibow.


Cassandra D’Ambrosio
Manager of Marketing & Communications
905-522-1151 ext. 242